Executive Board Members

Manage PermissionsManage Permissions

Chief Joe Holomy

MABAS-IL Secretary

Chief Joe Holomy has been in the fire service since 1976, beginning as a volunteer Firefighter in northern Illinois Southwest of Chicago. He worked his way up through the paid ranks, becoming a Paramedic then being promoted to Lieutenant in 1988, Deputy Chief in 1994 and becoming a Chief in 2001.  He then retired as Fire Chief of Effingham in 2018 after serving 14 years. He currently is serving as Interim Chief in Litchfield and is a volunteer Assistant Chief for Teutopolis FPD.  He has a Bachelor's Degree in Public Administration, holds numerous State of Illinois Fire Certifications to include Fire Officer III, Instructor III, and Arson Investigator. Chief Holomy was first Conferred as a Chief Fire Officer (CFO) by the Commission on Professional Credentialing in 2004 having recertified five times to date being 1 of 1,391 Chief Officers worldwide.  He is a 2016 Graduate of the National Fire Academy (Emmitsburg, Maryland) Executive Fire Officer (EFO) program. He serves on numerous committees across the State to include the Illinois Terrorism Task Force, the Illinois Fire Service Institute Fire Advisory Board, and Chairman of the Illinois State Fire Marshal Fire Advisory Board. He is Past President of the Illinois Fire Chiefs Association (IFCA) having served on the Executive Board from 2005 to 2014 and remains on several committees within the Association and is Past President of MABAS Division 54 (2005-2018). Chief Holomy is a state certified assessor for promotional testing in assessment centers for Firefighters challenging promotional exams to various ranks in the fire service. In February 2017, Chief Holomy was elected Secretary on the Executive Board for MABAS-IL which oversees the 69 Divisions within the state. Chief Holomy received Firefighter of the Year in 1992 and 2006, Unit Citations 1995 and 1996, Commendation Award 1999, Valor in 2000, Humanitarian Awards in 2005 and 2008 and Merit Award 2007. In addition, he received the Illinois Police Association Citizens Award for Valor in 2000 and Illinois Fire Chief of the Year in 2009.